Ākarana Piano Quartet

Whats On

Aroha Music Society in partnership with Chamber Music NZ presents Ākarana Piano Quartet. Four distinct solo voices coming together as one in an intense, exhilarating concert to lift the spirits. Award-winning musicians Andrew Beer, violin, and Sarah Watkins, piano (Best Classical Artist 2020, NZ Music Awards) have formed Ākarana Piano Quartet for debut performances in 2023. They will be joined by two outstanding colleagues from the Auckland Philharmonia Orchestra—principal violist Robert Ashworth and sub-principal cellist Chen Cao. A diverse programme: Joaquin Turina | Piano Quartet in A minor, Op 67 Bohuslav Martinů | Piano Quartet No 1, H 287 Janet Jennings | new commission after Paul Klee's 'New Harmony' Robert Schumann | Piano Quartet in E flat major, Op 47 The overall experience is one of rich, vibrant storytelling, connecting the key figures of European music with Aotearoa New Zealand—an opportunity for audiences to celebrate intimate music making of the highest quality from world-class musicians. Artists Sarah Watkins piano Andrew Beer, violin Robert Ashworth, viola Chen Cao, cello Free admission - Aroha Music Society offers free entrance to all aged 18yrs and under and Community Services Card holders. Available only in person from the box office.

How to Find Us
From $40


Turner Centre, Kerikeri, Bay of Islands

Event Dates

Sunday 3 September 2023