He Pou Aroha Community Cenotaph - Discover Your Connection

About this image

Waitangi Treaty Grounds

© Waitangi Treaty Grounds

Online Cenotaph is a comprehensive online hub for stories of New Zealand service personnel, developed by Auckland Museum: Containing the records of approximately 200,000 men and women who served for New Zealand from the 19th Century through to today, Auckland Museum is requesting the help of communities throughout New Zealand to enhance these records further.

Contribute to Online Cenotaph in your community.

He Pou Aroha Community Cenotaph provides portable digital access to Online Cenotaph using innovative purpose-built digitisation kiosks. The digitisation kiosks allow you to search Online Cenotaph, lay a virtual poppy against a specific person's name and contribute additional information to the database.

Each kiosk contains an object photo booth that enables you to digitise your family's war-related items such as medals, diaries, letters and more. The digitised objects are uploaded to the relevant service person's Online Cenotaph record for the world to see and future generations to remember.

Auckland Museum's digitisation unit will be at the Kauri Museum for members of the public to search Online Cenotaph, lay a poppy and contribute to the database. Drop in during opening hours to #DiscoverYourConnection.

Dates & Times

  • Thu, July 27, 2017 (9:00am to 5:00am)
  • Fri, July 28, 2017 (9:00am to 5:00am)
  • Sat, July 29, 2017 (9:00am to 5:00am)
  • Sun, July 30, 2017 (9:00am to 5:00am)
  • Mon, July 31, 2017 (9:00am to 5:00am)
  • Tue, August 01, 2017 (9:00am to 5:00am)
  • Wed, August 02, 2017 (9:00am to 5:00am)
  • Thu, August 03, 2017 (9:00am to 5:00am)
  • Fri, August 04, 2017 (9:00am to 5:00am)
  • Sat, August 05, 2017 (9:00am to 5:00am)
  • Sun, August 06, 2017 (9:00am to 5:00am)
  • Mon, August 07, 2017 (9:00am to 5:00am)
  • Tue, August 08, 2017 (9:00am to 5:00am)
  • Wed, August 09, 2017 (9:00am to 5:00am)
  • Thu, August 10, 2017 (9:00am to 5:00am)
  • Fri, August 11, 2017 (9:00am to 5:00am)
  • Sat, August 12, 2017 (9:00am to 5:00am)
  • Sun, August 13, 2017 (9:00am to 5:00am)
  • Mon, August 14, 2017 (9:00am to 5:00am)
  • Tue, August 15, 2017 (9:00am to 5:00am)
  • Wed, August 16, 2017 (9:00am to 5:00am)
  • Thu, August 17, 2017 (9:00am to 5:00am)
  • Fri, August 18, 2017 (9:00am to 5:00am)
  • Sat, August 19, 2017 (9:00am to 5:00am)
  • Sun, August 20, 2017 (9:00am to 5:00am)
  • Mon, August 21, 2017 (9:00am to 5:00am)
  • Tue, August 22, 2017 (9:00am to 5:00am)
  • Wed, August 23, 2017 (9:00am to 5:00am)
  • Thu, August 24, 2017 (9:00am to 5:00am)
  • Fri, August 25, 2017 (9:00am to 5:00am)
  • Sat, August 26, 2017 (9:00am to 5:00am)
  • Sun, August 27, 2017 (9:00am to 5:00am)
  • Mon, August 28, 2017 (9:00am to 5:00am)
  • Tue, August 29, 2017 (9:00am to 5:00am)
  • Wed, August 30, 2017 (9:00am to 5:00am)
  • Thu, August 31, 2017 (9:00am to 5:00am)

More information

LocationThe Kauri Museum, 5 Church Rd RD1, Matakohe
WebsiteVisit Event Website →
Cost No Charge
RestrictionsAll Ages

Venue details

Address5 Church Rd RD1
WebsiteVisit Venue Website →
About this Venue

The Kauri Museum is located approximately 90 minutes drive north of Auckland, in the rural backdrop of Matakohe. With truly stunning collections The Kauri Museum offers something that is like no other, and will amaze all with galleries of lifelike scenes of pioneering life. With over 4500 sq metres of undercover exhibits The Kauri Museum is the largest undercover attraction in Northland, with the theme and focal point of the mighty kauri in mind. Displays which include the largest collection of kauri gum in the world, a fully furnished 1900s kauri house occupied with dressed models, the largest collection of kauri furniture in the world, a huge 22 metre long kauri slab and a magnificent collection of original photographs and pioneering memorabilia.

The Kauri Museum give a fascinating insight into what life was like for our early pioneering settlers and shows through the galleries the demise of the mighty kauri tree, through the development of pioneering life.

Daily complimentary tours at 2pm. Normal museum admission fee apply.